What is The Original Type of Yoga?

What is the original type of yoga? The types of yoga you are most familiar with may not be the original types. For example, Hatha Yoga was developed in Europe and then brought to India by Swami Vivekananda. In this blog post, we will discuss what types of yoga originated from where and what they are called!

7 types of yoga:

  • Sivananda Yoga is also known as modern-day Himalayan yoga. It was developed by Swami Vishnudevananda and was based on Hatha Yoga, karma, Japa, bhakti and raja types of yoga which were followed in India for centuries. This type of yoga emphasizes meditation techniques (dhyana) to connect with the divine within us all.
  • Hatha Yoga is the perfect practice for anyone looking to explore both physical and spiritual wellness. Hatha means “sun” in Sanskrit, while Ha comes from “Hai” meaning to balance or moderate; Tha translates as the moon—representing a symbol of feminine intuition. Practicing Asanas (poses) will help your body achieve full health through an exercise that strengthens muscles, tones organs and joints improve circulation with oxygen-rich blood flow; Mudras are hand gestures used when meditating which helps open up different energy channels found throughout our bodies by balancing out various body parts including the nervous system–while Pranayama is also known as breath control where one can enhance their concentration during meditation sessions along with emotional intelligence through controlled breathing exercises
  • Kundalini or Tantric Yoga is a form of Hatha that comes from the northern parts of ancient India. Some believe it even dates back to 5000 BC! The goal behind this practice involves raising energy through various bodily centers until you reach enlightenment at the end – Sahaja Samadhi State (The natural state).
  • Raja Yoga is where you focus on the physical body, and how it relates to your mind and spirit. This type of Yoga was developed by Patanjali in 200 BC with an intent to create a system that would help people achieve liberation from suffering (moksha).
  • Ashtanga Yoga or Eight Limbed Practice Yoga are types of yoga that originated in India but are now practiced all over the world. The first two limbs deal with ethics, cosmic awareness, individual discipline and self-study/meditation; while the latter six talk about social responsibility, universal compassion for others without discrimination based on religion or culture.
  • Anusara Yoga focuses on harmony between oneself, nature as well as one’s inner teacher – Shiva-Shakti. It has been adapted from Hatha Yoga and has many types of positions or asanas.
  • Iyengar Yoga is a type of yoga based on Patanjali’s Raja Yoga which was developed by B.K.S Iyengar in the 1940s. It focuses more on alignment, precision and attention to detail when executing poses (asanas).

Knowledge about these types of yoga practices can help you decide what type suits your needs best! For example, if you are looking for something that will get you closer to peace, then Kundalini may be a good choice; but if it is healing body ailments and stress relief – Sivananda might work better for you! The types listed here are just scratching the surface – there are types of yoga that stem from as long ago as 5000 BC!



As you can see, there are many different types of yoga practices. The more knowledge you have about them, the better idea you will be able to narrow down which type is best for your needs and lifestyle. Which type of yoga practice do you think would suit yours? Let us know in the comments below!


Related Post: Which Yoga Style is Best for Beginners?


[mailerlite_form form_id=2]

Leave a Comment